Surviving your first year of college

Leaving for college can be a really tough thing for some people. On the other hand, some people LOVE it. Unfortunately, I was not one of those people that immediately loved college. I have made some changes to make college bearable for me, but if it wasn’t for me understanding the importance of having a degree (and having my family encourage me to stay), I would have probably dropped out that first year. Looking back, I’m glad I didn’t drop out and I think college is very important for you to be successful in adult life. I’m going to tell you my story with Freshman year of college, and some tips to get through your first year.

First, let me give you some background on myself.

I have never been a school person. I didn’t like kindergarten, and I didn’t like high school. It’s just not my cup of tea. I was hoping that college would change my mentality. I tried to be positive about it, but my first semester of college was one of the worst experiences of my life.

When I went to Freshman orientation, I signed up to be a Communication major with a concentration in Journalism. I have a passion for writing, so I thought that Journalism would be the perfect thing for me. I signed up for all of my classes and was super nervous, but pretty excited about it.

When I went back home from orientation, I had a lot of time to think. I have always loved children and have been babysitting since I can remember. When I was eight years old, I became an aunt. Thinking about all of this made me second guess myself on majoring in Journalism. After talking to some people, they all agreed with me that I should change my major to Early Education.

The following week, I drove back up to campus and changed my major to Early Education (yes, I was that person that changed my major before school even began). I signed up for all of my classes and felt good about my decision. I still loved writing, but I thought I could write as a hobby on the side of being a teacher.

When the fall rolled around, school started. I went to all of my classes, and I enjoyed them the first two weeks. After that, everything went down hill.

Nothing in me wanted to be a teacher, but I had to finish out my first semester as an Education major. The majority of my classes were Education classes (which is awful when you decide you do not want to be a teacher). In my math class, I was learning what seemed like a totally new language (welcome to common core Ashley).

I knew that I had made the wrong choice, and all I wanted to do was go back to Journalism. I went ahead and changed my major back to Journalism and signed up for my Spring classes.

I was lucky, and most of my Education credits transferred.

My first piece of advice is listen to your instinct when deciding on a major. If you have no clue what you want to do, sign up for only gen. ed classes. I’m 100% positive that if I stayed in Journalism, my first semester would have been so much better.

My school requires Freshman to stay in dorms. I did not like staying in a dorm at all. I like to be by myself sometimes to wind down. I like to have a lot of personal space. I also like to constantly have music on, and when you have a roommate, that can’t always happen.

Dorms are great for people who like to party, but I’d rather be reading a book than partying. Whether or not your going to enjoy living in a dorm completely depends on your personality.

If you like quietness and you are not a partier, I recommend not staying in a dorm.

My second semester of my Freshman year was so much better than the first. Doing the simple thing of changing my major back to Journalism changed everything.

Now I’m in my second semester of my Sophomore year and college isn’t that bad. I live in an apartment where I can cook and have silence when I’m sleeping! Remember that just because this was my experience with Freshman year of college, your’s could be totally different. Always make sure you’re working toward a degree in something you love, and you will always be happy!

Leave a Reply

